MCN Mancomunidad Castellana de Naciones

The Castilian Commonwealth of Nations was formed during the separation and dictatorship in Mother Castile, trying to bring the former Castilian colonies to the Kingdom in New Granada.  Later, with the reunification of Castile, Mother Castile joined as one more member state.  Some of the goals of the community are free trade and free movement of people, as well as cultural exchange.  The members of the CCN are:


A great deal of the 20th century there where two Castiles: The Castilian State, AKA Iberian Castile, which became a republic after deposing king Juan in early 20th century to default in a phalangist dictatorship under General Tascon after a bloody civil war in the 1930's, and the Kingdom of Castile & Leon compromising most of the overseas territories of the former kingdom, recognizing king Juan and his successor queen Maria Luisa.

The kingdom, set the temporary capital at Cartagena de Indias in New Granada.  This gave an increasing importance to the Americas and the American neighbors of Castile & Leon, including several former colonies, and an integration project begun.

The process was not easy.  Despite most of the people in Peru, Chile, Venez˘la or Tejas kept feeling that Castile was the Mother Fatherland (Madre Patria), there where a lot of bad feelings not completely healed from the independence movements in early 18th century.  Territorial claims from Mejico, Venez˘la and Peru also played against.

In 1946, a first cultural organization was founded: the Castilian-American Organization for Culture and Science (OCCC) under the protection of Queen Maria Luisa.  New Granada and Central America joined as separate members and the other founding members where Venez˘la, Cuba and Chile.  Soon, Peru, Alta California and Mejico joined as well.

By 1951 the OCCC changed into the "Mancomunidad Castellanoamericana" (Castilian-American Commonwealth - MC), and the goals included also a common market and further integration, easing migration barriers between member states, and pursuing pacific conflict resolution.  The Canary Islands and Tejas joined the MC in 1952 and Florida-Caribbea asked for integration too.

The Cuban revolution in 1953, followed by the annexation to Florida-Caribbea stopped the process and lessened the relationships between Florida-Caribbea and the MCFlorida-Caribbea decided to found their own organization.  Tejas soon left the MC as the war between Tejas and Alta California heated up again.  In 1961, Florida-Caribbea and Tejas formed the Gulf Alliance (AGM), with similar goals to the MC, and they begun an intensive diplomatic campaign to get more MC nations into their side.

Venez˘la in 1964 and Mejico in 1969 retired from the MC joined the AGM which became the CELCAGOM (Community of Independent States of the Caribbean and the Gulf of Mexico).

In 1967, after Tascon died, the monarchy was restored in Iberian Castile, and Maria Luisa's son Eduardo was crowned King, according to the testament of Tascon who wanted to prevent liberal Maria Luisa to rule again in Iberia.

Eduardo wanted, however, a tighter integration between the two Castiles and the first attempt came through the MC.  Iberian Castile joined the MC as a new state member in 1969, and the union was renamed as "Mancomunidad Castellana de Naciones" (MCN ľ Castilian Commonwealth of Nations).

Eduardo died in 1975 and his heir was his nephew Alfonso JosÚ, grandson of Maria Luisa.  Seeing a unique opportunity to reunite the kingdom, Queen Maria Luisa resigned her crown to her grandson and Alfonso JosÚ became king of the Two Castiles.  Alfonso JosÚ promoted common institutions and a democratic transition.  He finally resigned most of the political powers in 1978, when the reunification of the Kingdom of Castile & Leon was complete.

Composition and goals

The MCN current members are Alta California, Castile & Leon (Iberian Castile), Central America, Chile, New Granada and Peru.  The Canary Islands resigned the standalone membership and is represented through the Castilian Territories, a figure also including Western Sahara, Guam and Castilian Micronesia.

Currently, any citizen of a MCN member state is citizen of the MCN and can move to any other MCN country without passport.  Most goods are also allowed to cross boundaries without tariff and military vessels of AC, Chile and Peru can cross the Nicaragua canal without fee.  King Alfonso JosÚ is recognized as the head and chairman of the MCN.

Conflicts between MCN members should be resolved peacefully, but there have been no war situation yet.  However the MCN is not a military pact.  The MCN is neutral in the conflict between Alta California and Tejas, but not impartial (no MCN member is allowed to sell weapons to Tejas, for example).  There is no monetary union either.  The Kingdom, Alta California, Peru and Chile each have their own currency (all of them called "Peso": peso real, peso californiano, peso peruano, peso chileno), but they have fixed exchange rates.

The  CELCAGOM is less tight integrated than the MCN, and it seem barely to be a union by name.  While they pursuit cultural exchange and pacific conflict resolution, there is no tariff union, just constantly violated trade agreements, and there is no free movement of people, goods or capital.

Venez˘la has expressed her will to rejoin the MCN, and the MCN is still opened to new members.  Peru and Chile are also members of the Andean Pact, and there are also talks to integrate the other AP members into the MCN: Tawantinsuyo, Charcas, Paraguay and Araucaria.  (Charcas and Tawantinsuyo are likely, Araucaria much less so.)

The Andean Pact is less ambitious than the MCN.